Get It!

I got the boot off at the beginning of February and after a super-successful PT session on Monday and some stretching, I finally ventured into my office’s gym on Wednesday morning. (In December my office moved to a complex that has a gym. It was very exciting and it took me two months to use it.)

I’m reluctant to call anything a routine before doing it for 3-4 weeks, but yesterday and today I managed to get myself up and out of the house with my kiddo, drop her at daycare, and then get to the gym with enough time to get in a 15-20 minute workout, shower, and head into the office.

Part of me feels like it’s such a huge effort to only get in 15-20 minutes but the rest of me knows that if that’s the only time I have, I will still benefit from workout out for that length of time.  Also, if I’m only exercising lightly for 20 minutes, I don’t need to shower.  Which is good because the hot water doesn’t seem to work in the showers.

I also started, and am dragging my poor spouse along for the ride, a DIY version of 21-Day Fix.  Basically, I borrowed the containers from a friend and figured out my container count on the internet and am cooking food from recipes I found on Pinterest.  I’m not doing the exercises because I’m injured and once I’m back to being able to work out I will be following the half marathon training plan from my training group.  I have not paid for this plan.  If you are also interested in DIYing the plan, you can definitely get the containers on Amazon and download a tracking app or printables and I think it’s still probably a good program.  Mostly I’m learning better moderation and portion sizes, particularly for carbs and how many vegetables I really need a day.

The really cool part is how good I feel.  I don’t mean the “I have so much more energy because I’m not eating gluten!” high that some people get when they are doing Whole 30 or even the “Shakeology is giving me a glow!” that people tell you because they are trying to a) justify the cost to themselves or b) sell it to you.  I mean that I’m feeling good in the, “I am exercising and eating right and I CAN DO THIS AND I AM AWESOME!” superwoman kind of way that I get when I get into a good groove.  I’m moving more. I’m eating food. Not too much. Mostly plants.

I haven’t lost any weight yet. And that is discouraging.  Four days in.  But I also know that I have a long range plan here.  Which is to get into a healthier eating and exercise pattern, which will hopefully both help me avoid diabetes and fit into my suits.  I know that the last time I needed to lose this much weight, it took me a full year.  I definitely convinced myself that it should be easier to lose this time because it was “just” baby weight but it turns out that those pounds are just as hard to lose as regular pounds.

Anyway, for now, I’m just going to keep trying to get in 15-20 minutes a day of exercise and to keep up with the container counts and eating more vegetables and protein and less carbs.

What has everyone else been up to while I’ve been on the sidelines?

Leave a comment

Filed under Exercise and Fitness

Leave a Reply

