Setbacks

Yesterday I got up, played with my daughter, and went for a run with my family.  My daughter fell asleep in the stroller and so we decided I would shower, then we would trade off and I would walk around with her in the stroller while my husband showered.  All went according to plan until I decided to stop at a local shop for a breakfast sandwich.  As I left, the door slammed into my ankle and hurt really badly.  Once I had pulled to the side of the sidewalk, I realized I was bleeding, and once I had pulled out a napkin to mop up the blood, I realized I was going to need stitches.  My husband, if you’re following along, was at home in the shower.  My friends were mostly still asleep.  I finally reached my friend’s surgeon husband, and the two of them rushed over to check.  Surgeon husband agreed I was going to need stitches, and suggested the hospital instead of urgent care because it was possible I had cut the tendon.

I had, in fact, cut the tendon.  Nicked it, really.  It is hard to feel grateful that you didn’t do more damage when this feels like such a ridiculous thing to have happened on a lovely Saturday morning after a good run and all you wanted was a sandwich.  So now, I’m in a boot for at least two weeks. I had to cancel a trip next weekend.  I’m not going to be able to do my boot camp program. I’m not sure if I’ll be able to run my half-marathon.  I can’t drive right now, so my 45 minute commute to work is a challenge.

My husband has been wonderful, doing most of the childcare because I can’t really move right now, and letting me sleep in this morning to recover. Sometime, in the next few days, I will find gratitude that the door did not do more damage.  I will find out the extent of the damage when I follow up with the orthopedist.  I will remember that injuries are a part of athletics, and that no matter how you incur them, you have to honor your body and give it the time and space it needs to do the hard work of healing.  I will be grateful that I can order almost anything I need off the Internet.  Gratitude is a practice.  The more I practice, the better I’ll get.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

