Shred (and post partum exercise)

As I neared six months post partum, I was tired of feeling frustrated at how little weight I’ve lost. In an effort to deal with this, I’ve refused to change the dead batteries in the scale and have been engaged in my 30-day-shred challenge. I’m feeling more like myself again, which is the important part. I know that triathlons and yoga and long trail races are in my future. I know that some of my acquaintances are disappointed in me. That I haven’t been a shining example of how to go forth and be awesome with a baby. And to that, all I have to say, is this sh*t is hard. 


It is ok to not lose the baby weight right away. It is ok to take some time to figure out what you want, need, enjoy, and have time for. If exercise makes you feel whole and real and complete, do it. If it makes you feel crummy and lazy and tired, don’t. Sure, it’s good for you. Sure, taking time off might make it harder to get back to it. But for the first three months, I chose sleep over exercise. That was the right decision. I don’t regret it. My body also needed a lot of time to heal. Is still healing. Just because you can exercise at 6 or 8 weeks post partum doesn’t mean you can do everything. So go easy on yourself. It’s really ok. 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Shred (and post partum exercise)

  1. As someone who hasn’t carried and birthed a child, I second this. Sleep before exercise always. Exercise when you don’t feel yourself makes you miserable, and that’s no quality of life. You do you.

  2. M

    Yes to all of this. I found that what I enjoyed doing changed, and it took a while to realize that that was ok.

Leave a Reply

