30-Day-Shred-April!

I have been waiting to post about this, but I started April and a 30-Day-Shred challenge.  It’s going really well so far and I’m busily patting myself on the back for being able to work out 9 whole days in a row.  Generally, I put the baby to bed, then I shred, then I shower and go to bed.  I haven’t lost any weight, but I feel way less grumpy about not losing any weight, and the shredding might be counteracting all of the Easter candy I’m eating?

I started on Level 1 and usually I used to start on Level 1 and move to Level 2 three or four days into a shred challenge.  But now, I’m here on Level 1, doing pushups on my knees and slowly moving up to heavier weights and whatever.  I lost an awful lot of endurance and muscle mass.  I kept having to remind myself, as I slogged through Workout 1 the first few days, that it is okay that I’m not as good as I once was.  it is okay that I’m not as fit as I was a year ago.  I was in amazing shape a year ago, but I also had a 2 mile commute and just myself to take care of.  Now, I have an infant and a 30 mile commute.  Something had to give, and it was my ability to stay in shape so well.  And that’s okay.  If all I can manage is 30 day Shred, that’s fine, and the only way I’m going to get any better is to do it.

So far, my pants don’t fit better, I don’t feel like I’m eating Level 1 for breakfast, but I’m doing it and I’m trying and that’s what matters.  I think I’m going to suck it up and move to Level 2 this weekend because I am just dreading it and I know it’s going to be terrible but also great.  After April, I will be on the hunt for other workout DVDs that I like that don’t involve awkward comments about dieting or bathing suit shopping.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

