Well.

So how is my new job? It’s great. It’s fascinating. It’s mostly new areas of law, but I still get to do some domestic violence law.  The people are fabulous and overall everything is going swimmingly.  Except for two things. The commute, and this pregnancy.

The commute is long. It’s 45 minutes to an hour, and if I take the train it’s an hour and ten minutes, including riding my bike a mile to the train, then a mile to my office, and the same going home.  I like the bike ride and it’s nice to take the train.  Unfortunately, sometimes it’s not an option – if I have court or a meeting or a doctor’s appointment, I have to drive.  Which is exhausting.  Even if I’m not driving, I’m still losing 2 hours of my day – which basically is the time I used to spend cooking and that I used to spend going to the gym.  So my gym routine has suffered considerably.  I’m working on figuring out how to work out at work on my lunch break, but there isn’t a nearby gym and walking laps around our parking lot is pretty dreary.  We have a lovely trail nearby, but it’s pretty much a mile to get to it.

As an aside, let me just say: Pregnancy is an awfully humbling experience.  It’s really really easy to judge other people who are pregnant for subsisting on bacon cheeseburgers and then you get pregnant and you can’t keep anything down but grilled cheese.  What to Expect is like, “eat 19 servings of vegetables a day, it’s not hard!” and in the beginning you believe them but then you quickly realize that it’s actually not possible to consume as much food as they recommend.  And maybe there are women out there who are still able to be awesome and feel fit and good up through their third trimester, but I’m going to let you in on a secret: a lot of us are faking it.  I did a 5k over the weekend and pretended I felt good, but really it was uncomfortable because they did not have a bathroom on the course and also walking a 5k by yourself is pretty dull, especially when it’s on a runway.  I’m glad I’m still able to walk, and I’m glad I’m signed up for another 5k, because it is keeping me motivated to stay active, but man, did I have expectations which are ridiculous.  Third trimester is uncomfortable.  It’s exhausting.  I thought I was going to be better at being pregnant than I am, and I’m just not.

Anyway, the reason pregnancy has made my job transition difficult is that about a week after I started, I was diagnosed with gestational diabetes and classed as “high risk”.  Which means more doctors appointments and more monitoring.  They’ve had me coming to the OB weekly, plus I have to see an endocrinologist and go in for additional ultrasounds and monitoring to make sure the baby isn’t growing too big.  I also have regular therapy appointments, so I’m seeing a minimum of two doctors a week, pretty much.  Which means needing to work longer hours on some days to make up, and means driving to work when I have doctor’s appointments.  I don’t really like coming into the office at 11am or leaving early to go to yet another doctor’s appointment, so it’s been pretty frustrating.  However, the hours are flexible and my supervisor is very understanding and sympathetic about being high risk.  A lot of my coworkers have kids and are full of helpful working-parent advice and it’s just a good environment to be in.

So overall, things are going well, but my blogging has suffered and will continue to suffer.  IT can also always log into my computer, so I can’t write from the office in my downtime anymore.  But I will continue to update when I’m able!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

