2 Years

Today is my two-year anniversary of my job. I celebrated by starting therapy.

Finding a therapist was on my to-do list for the year, so I’m glad it only took me two months to get it sorted. I had to make several calls to various branches of insurance to figure out where to go and how much it would cost, and then ultimately I gave up on trying to find a "good" therapist and I just called the local health care center where everyone is covered by my insurance and so far everyone I have met there is extremely nice, but I haven’t met with my actual therapist yet. There weren’t a ton of reviews for therapists that I could find anyway, which was frustrating. I also think that reviewing therapists is a little difficult because everyone is different and has different needs.

I’m optimistic about this process, because I believe that I will develop some good tools to handle my workplace stress and anxiety and hopefully deal with some of the bigger issues that I have. Ultimately, I’m hoping that this will help me help my clients more, and will help me be a better lawyer.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “2 Years

  1. I’m glad you’re doing this, and I’m glad you’re being open about the fact that regular people, not crazy people, need therapy. It’s definitely a proactive step to making sure you’re in the best mental state for your job.

    I have tentative plans of practicing a much less mentally taxing law, but there’s part of me that would like to be involved in something like this, even if it’s part time pro-bono. The anxiety really worries me though. I hope therapy works out well for you.

  2. I think you’re really smart to recognize that you have an emotionally demanding job. I am crossing my fingers that your therapist is a good fit!

Leave a Reply

