Books

In 2013, I read:- Wild, by Cheryl Strayed (highly recommend)
What Love Sees, by Susan Vreeland (highly recommend)
Vanishing Acts, by Jodi Piccoult (recommend if you need beach reading)

I started and somewhat read:
Moranthology by Caitlin Moran (she makes a lot of music references that I do not get)
Lean In by Cheryl Sandberg (highly recommend)

I listened to:
The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce (highly recommend but might prefer as a book)
The Curious Incident of the Dog In the Nighttime by Mark Haddon (even if you read the book, listen to the audio book – it’s fantastic.)
Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett (read this – it’s sooooo long – took several months of listening)
Let’s Pretend this Never Happened, by Jenny Lawson (highly recommend, very good on audio)
Flight Behavior, by Barbara Kingsolver (read this. long, pretty complicated.)

That’s historically low for me. For vacation, in two weeks, I have the Anne of Green Gables books and The Host. I’m also currently reading Grain Brain, but his recommended diet involves no gluten, no sugar, and no sweet potatoes, so I suspect I’ll be done with that book very shortly.

I can’t decide whether in 2014 I would prefer to commit to 14 books, or just 12, one for each month. Santa is bringing me a Kindle Paperwhite, and I really would like to go back to reading before bed instead of checking my twitter feed or whatever else. I’ve also started reading at the gym again, so I might be able to tackle a few books there.

So let’s hear some suggestions! Nothing grisley. Nothing too stressful. Are there books that are somehow both fluffy and intellectually challenging? Cuz I’d like to read some of those. Nothing that hits too close to home. Is this how people get super into sci fi? I like historical fiction. I would love to read a good civil war book, having recently seen a play about Lincoln.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

