When I grow Up

I was inspired by this post this morning to think about what I wanted to be when I grew up.  I wanted to be a marine biologist for awhile there.  I wanted to be a coral disease researcher, stopping the spread of white band and black band disease.  I was not very good at science though, so I had to go to my fallback career of being a lawyer.  Because yes, since I was 9 or 10 years old, I wanted to be a lawyer. 

I rethought whether I wanted to be a lawyer a couple of times in high school and in college, but I’m not entirely sure that I chose this career as much as it chose me.  I knew in law school that I belonged there, and I worked harder in law school than in undergrad or college because I felt like I was meant to do this.  When I graduated, and I rethought whether I wanted to be a lawyer because I couldn’t find a job, I kept coming back to, “but this is what I want to be.” When people encourage me to find my passion and pursue it, I just look at them blankly.  My passion is practicing law.  It is helping people.  I don’t know if that will change, I don’t know if it will always look the way it does, but when I think about now where I want my career to go in the next 30 years, I don’t want to go terribly far from where I am.  I want to practice law.  I want to be a lawyer when I grow up.  Do I always want to litigate? No. Do I always want to deal with clients? No. But I do know that I’m not one of those lawyers who cannot stand the idea of practicing, and I also know that that makes me very, very lucky.  I know that there are many people who hate this field as much as I like it, and I hope for all of them that they get to find something else they love. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

