This.

I love this article. Please go read it. My clients run the gamut of education and deportment, and I find it fascinating to watch how some of them are received by the court, by the police, by the system generally, depending on how they act and talk and walk and carry themselves. I also think it is so important to recognize in myself when I am treating somebody differently because I perceive them as more or less educated, more or less articulate, more or less like me. I try to work past this, to not get frustrated when a client talks or acts differently than I would in a situation, to frequently make sure my clients understand what I’m saying and not just acting like they do to impress me or get me to represent them.

How do you check your privileges? Any good resources for making sure I’m checking mine?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

