New Rules of Lifting

I wanted to offer a quick review of my latest workout – the New Rules of Lifting for Women, which I first read about on Carla’s blog.  When my friend Kelly told me she had just finished the program, I commented I was interested in it because I was interested in strength training more, and I was sick of not always being able to make body pump.  She promptly loaned it to me, and my running buddy S. and I got started on some lifting routines.

The biggest issue has been that our gym has a limited number of squat racks, and can get pretty crowded.  A solution has been to go before work, but it stresses me out on days I have hearings, and we just graduated to phase 2, which has more exercises and takes longer, so we’ve been lifting in the evening.  Which results in having to wait for the squat rack and a bunch of sweaty frat guys saying, “do you have much longer?”

I think the workouts in the book are pretty effective, and I’ve never believed that women shouldn’t lift heavy weights.  I’ve never been concerned about bulking up.  I think the idea that women shouldn’t be badass with cut muscles is bull, and I think that to get become scary muscly, you have to work out like it’s your job. And instead, I actually go to work and do another job, so I don’t really worry.

I think I’ve gotten stronger – swimming, biking, and running are all easier now, on less training.  I’ve noticed some changes in body composition, although my body fat content is apparently higher than it was 6 months ago, even though I’ve lost weight.  So I’m going to keep going, and I’m trying to push the weight more and increase as much as possible.  It’s nice to feel like I’m improving.

Do you lift? Have you tried the new rules?  What do you think?

1 Comment

Filed under Exercise and Fitness

One response to “New Rules of Lifting

  1. They put a book out a few years back and it is a great no nonsense guide..I’m sure this book will be the same…have you followed it???

Leave a Reply

