Adventures, onward!

So yesterday my husband came home to a package of awesomeness from his work as a thank-you present for how hard he’s been working. Included in the package was a new tent, new sleeping bags, and awesome bike panniers. Sounds like we suddenly have plans for labor day weekend!

In the broader scheme, this makes me think about some of the stuff we’ve been talking about lately, about seeking adventure. Our friends take risks and move to foreign countries and do big scary things make us feel jealous, but only recently has it occurred to me that it wouldn’t hurt us to follow suit. That ships are safe at harbor, but that isn’t what ships are built for. So we have begun to discuss adventuring. The problem is, when the world is your oyster, it’s hard to know where to go. We could hike the Pacific Crest Trail, we could backpack through Europe, we could go to Austrailia and rent a campervan, we could bike cross country, we could bike across Europe, we could walk across Vermont, we could go to South America, we could walk across England. Anything could be a once in a lifetime journey, or anything could be simply a lot of cold and wet and miserable.

So dream with us. Dwell in possibility. If you could go anywhere and do anything, and had a 1-3 month window, in the summertime, where would you go? What would you do?

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Adventures, onward!

  1. I would love to hike the PCT. It’d be an amazing challenge and so so beautiful. However, we’re prioritizing going to Alaska for about eight weeks next summer. Perhaps summer 2014 for the PCT?!??

  2. I’m facing similar choices about adventuring (in fact, we’re getting together over dinner tonight to talk about plans)! We’d like to go somewhere over New Years, but can’t decide if we should try someplace new, or go somewhere we’ve already been and relax.

    We won’t have 1-3 months, but if we did, I think I’d want to backpack across Asia. I’ve never been, and I think it would be an incredible experience.

  3. Lethe

    Road trip to camp in every national park in the west, from Glacier down to the Grand Canyon. Definitely.

    • vadoporroesq

      I’ve thought about doing this, but it’s a LOT of car time and I’d rather spend that time on my feet or on a bike. Or a train. Also, the last thing I want to do when I get out of the car is hike, which sounds really weird, but I guess I’m a victim of inertia, so it’s not even like we would drive and then camp. Also, I want to do this when we have kids – growing up, we spent a ton of time driving around the southwest – and I feel like the point of this trip is to do a once-in-a-lifetime adventure.

Leave a Reply

