26: a year.

The first half of being 26 was kind of terrible, but the second half has been pretty darn wonderful, so I’m calling it a good year.  It’s always good to take stock, and I thought I would start with my 30 by 30 list:

  1. Run a marathon (done)
  2. Do a century bike ride
  3. Do an Olympic distance triathlon
  4. Make my own cheese (done)
  5. Make my own yogurt (done)
  6. Go back to Egypt
  7. Do a trail race (done)
  8. Pace my friend E. on one of her Ultramarathons (done! twice!)
  9. Go diving in the pacific ocean
  10. Take an overnight train trip with my husband
  11. Put a backsplash up in the kitchen (done!)
  12. Grow vegetables (we have our plot and we are growing vegetables, but we haven’t eaten any yet)
  13. Go on a racecation (race + vacation)
  14. Volunteer at the nature center where we got married
  15. Try CrossFit
  16. Take a boxing class
  17. Take a photography class (done – I took a four week intermediate photography class this fall)
  18. Take baked goods to the new neighbors
  19. Go to Australia
  20. Do a bike tour of Niagra wineries
  21. Do a beer tour somewhere new
  22. See a Broadway play
  23. Run a half-marathon in under 2 hours
  24. Learn Spanish (signing up for classes that start next week)
  25. Score the winning goal in a hockey game (done!)
  26. Earn a salary and have health insurance.(done!)

If you notice, the list is still short four things.  That is because I’m pretty sure that in the next 3 years, I will think of at least 4 other things I would like to do by the time I’m 30.  I also change some things on the list, because I believe the list is a goal, and not a set end-point.  I’m thinking that Australia and Egypt might not happen, and I’m okay with that.  The point is to reach for the things those things represent – traveling, and making time for my very best friends.  The Australia trip may present itself as a trip to Thailand or a trip to California – as long as it’s an adventure, it adheres to the spirit of the list – and the goals are the least important part of the list.

Anyone want to share their list and how they are doing?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “26: a year.

Leave a Reply

