Go Further: September Challenge

So this week, I have fallen off the Shred challenge wagon. I shredded on Sunday when we got back from camping, and then Monday we went for a 10-mile run and I skipped it. Tuesday, I did level 1 with all of the modifications.  Wednesday, I only did Level 1, circuit 1, and then I stretched my hip because it hurt.  And then on Wednesday, I got the worst telephone call of my life.

My family lost a very dear friend, in fact, probably the best friend that any four people could have, and if I try to quantify this loss, it still will not be enough, but it was the kind of news that made you stop and cry and wonder if life is worth living because pain like this is so severe.  I spent Wedensday and Thursday crying and this morning I overslept from the sheer exhaustion of trying to process everything, and I might shred tonight or I might not.  I finally seem to be breathing regularly again and my heart has settled into a dull ache, rather than a severe I-can’t-breathe pain, but I’m just going to keep going through the motions.

I hope everybody else is doing well. Radio silence may continue on my end here for a bit longer. I am going to try to finish out the month, and I’m starting to see some muscle changes.  When we went climbing on Tuesday night, for the first time in three months, I wasn’t nearly as out of shape as I had thought, and was able to pull myself up pretty well, so that felt really good.

4 Comments

Filed under Challenge, Exercise and Fitness

4 responses to “Go Further: September Challenge

  1. Jo

    I’m just not going to make any goals outside of “stay afloat” this semester. I think I’ll try the Shred Challenge again in December when my life gets slower for a month.

    I’m so very, very sorry for your loss, sweetheart.

  2. So sorry your friend left this life so soon. 😦

  3. I know my words do not mean much in the scheme of things but you’ve been in my thoughts all week. I’m so very sorry about your loss.

  4. “but I’m just going to keep going through the motions.”

    Some days, that’s all you can ask of yourself. You’ve been in my thoughts. 😦

Leave a Reply

