Go Further: September Challenge

Yes! It is September.  For once, I’m happy a new month is starting.  My summer challenge was lame, and I did a fair bit of slacking off.  I know many of you did too.  If you didn’t slack, comment so I can tell you how impressive and badass you are!

For September, my goal is a pretty hefty one.  I will be undertaking a 30-day-shred challenge, in which I do Jillian Michaels’ 30 Day Shred for 30 Days.  I started this morning with Level 1.  Somebody on Twitter said the idea is to do Level 1 for 10 Days, Level 2 for 10 Days, and Level 3 for 10 Days.  I thought that was silly, since usually I do Level 1 for one day, then move up, but this morning, Level 1 was pretty tough for me, so I’ll be doing it for at least a few days.

I’m staying with my sister this weekend since my city is being overtaken by tourists, so I’m not sure if I’ll be able to do it on Sunday, and I’m also training for my next half-marathon in October, so I may be taking days off when I do my long runs.  But I think overall this challenge will be really good for my overall half-marathon performance, so I’m hoping to do it as much as possible.  I know that the hip/quad/hamstring exercises that are part of the shred are really good for helping deal with my recurring knee issues related to bike riding.

For September, you have two options.  Either set your own goal, or do the 30 Day Shred challenge with me!  I think I will try to figure out how to do a 30-Day-Shred page or something where I can update daily as to whether I did the Shred or not, and you all can comment with questions/issues (especially if you are new to the DVD – I’ve been doing it for a little over 2 years, on and off.)

So how will you #gofurther in September?

7 Comments

Filed under Challenge, Exercise and Fitness

7 responses to “Go Further: September Challenge

  1. I’m also thrilled that it’s September. July and August were pretty much total busts for me, but now that the weather is cooling off, I’m ready to get back into it. I’m going to start slow, and just hope to either run at least three miles or do the Shred four times a week.

  2. July was a total bust for me. August was actually pretty awesome. I never really checked in here or announced my goal for the month, but I did kick some butt. My husband and I got fitbits and have been putting them to use to make sure we get in our miles! We get up every morning (or most mornings) and walk our dog about 1.5 miles before work. Then after work, we go for a more hardcore walk (about 3.5 hike) to make sure we get in a total of at least 5 miles on our workout walks for the day. We have been very active and are definitely getting stronger! FINALLY, after 7 yrs together, my husband will work out with me on a consistent basis. THAT is a win!

    This month I decided to step it up. We’ll still walk in the am with our pup, but nights we’re incorporating C25k again to get running. He is not a runner, so this will help ease him into it, but still give me a support partner and up the intensity. I also joined a weekly women’s running group, so I still get longer more challenging runs there without him.

    My goals for this month are to start doing my Kettlebell workout dvd at least once per week. And I am going to take a stab at doing the shred with you! Guess that means tonight is day 1! This also prob means I will need some daily accountability help on twitter to help motivate me to stay on it EVERYDAY!!! Shred hashtag, please?

    Pumped to get back in the game!!!

  3. Jo

    I’m doing the shred! (It was me on twitter, I found that info out after googling around forever.)

  4. Wish I could do the 30 shred with you guys, but I’ve tried it twice before and don’t think it’s a good one for me. LOVED it the first time, 2nd time I started to experience a horrible pain in my knees that lingered for a long time, even once I stopped using the dvd, which freaked me out.

    I’m working on coming up with some other type of plan for Sept….

  5. Mel

    I’ve been continuing to see a personal trainer once a week, and starting the middle of this month I am enrolling in “Fit Club” at my gym- meeting 2x a week with the same trainer for an hour each time, for 4 weeks. I’ve been doing a lot of strength training but I’m hoping to step up my cardio this month. I’m planning on doing a 5K on October 15th (the weekend before my wedding!)

    • vadoporroesq

      You running Baltimore? It’s an awesome race… Bummer. I just realized I’m out of town for your wedding. Was going to offer to be generally helpful if you needed anything.

Leave a Reply

