Changes

I tried going no-shampoo yesterday.  I got in the shower with a cup of baking soda and water and a bottle of apple cider vinegar.  I’m not sure if I’m supposed to baking-soda my hair every day (I don’t think so), but I did it again today.  My hair has that thick-hasn’t-been-washed feeling, but it doesn’t look greasy.

I will say, it’s got great volume and it was really easy to style today.  It took to my straightener much better than it usually does.

The downside?  I smell pretty strongly of apple cider vinegar.  At least today I held off using body wash until after I was done with my hair, because I knew from yesterday that it’s hard to get the vinegar smell off.  Also, it seems that there are conflicting reports as to whether to apply the baking soda to dry hair or wet hair.  I went with wet yesterday and dry today – dry worked better, I think.

Any no-shampoo tips for a beginner?  Anyone else thinking of trying it?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Changes

  1. I have not been brave enough to try this. I think my sister was going to, I can ask her how it’s going.

  2. Hmm… I’ve never had the vinegar smell linger – when my hair dries, the smell disappears. How much did you use? And did you dilute it? I like this particular combo (for my hair – frizzy/curly): 1 Tbsp. baking soda in 8 oz. water, ditto for vinegar. And then rinse well after.

Leave a Reply

