Decisions

I made a decision recently.  Which is that I do not want to go from my current job to a slightly-better job.  Which means not moving to another part time job just because it pays better, or moving to a full-time job with no benefits because it would be full-time and not part-time.  It means holding out, a little bit,   I made this decision for a few reasons:

1) I like my job now, even though it isn’t full time.

2) I would like those fancy grownup things like insurance and paid vacation time, and the sooner I start earning them, the better.   If I switch to another part-time job or a job with no benefits, I think I will have to work there for awhile to make another transition, which will set me back.

3) I am anxious for my “real life’ to start, and if I take another part-time or low-paying job, I will spend another six months trying to find another new job, and I’m pretty darn tired of job hunting.

I am aware that part of the nature of this market, and my career path, is that I will change jobs frequently, that I will face unemployment when grants end.  But the job that I have now is good experience, it’s a supportive work environment, and it’s interesting.  And I don’t really want my resume to reflect that I can’t hold a job for more than a couple of months, although I’m not sure if that is what an employer would see when they look at it.

Thoughts?  Are you also in limbo with job stuff?

3 Comments

Filed under Job Search

3 responses to “Decisions

  1. I think waiting for something full-time with benefits and not changing just for the sake of change is a good call. I hated my last job and I worried if I switched to something else I was ambivalent about just to get out of there that I’d just be in a second shitty job, so I stuck it out. I needed the money, had decent vacation and really not much was demanded of me, so it was ok to coast. (I probably planned 75% of my wedding from my desk there.) Ultimately I made a lateral move salarywise, but the working conditions, benefits and the experience I’m getting now are sooo much better (and actually related to my degrees). It takes patience to find a job that fits these days. Since you actually enjoy the job you’re in now, so much the better!

  2. Jo

    I think this is an awesome decision! Hugs on your last day.

  3. Pingback: No lateral moves | Vado Porro – Go Further

Leave a Reply

