Changing Habits: Part II

I’ve been talking to a few people lately about 1) chemicals in my beauty products and 2) not using shampoo.  Which led to reading this article about quitting shampoo.  Husband has also recently quit shampoo, although he has gone cold turkey.

Now is maybe not a good time for me to go quitting shampoo, since my sister-in-law’s wedding is in a month and I don’t want to look greasy and weird, but I am curious as to how well quitting shampoo works for serious athletes who shower twice a day.  Because I do like the idea of not shampooing so much.  Any thoughts/opinions/experiences?

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Changing Habits: Part II

  1. I’m speechless. I can’t imagine the mess of oil my hair would produce if I tried to do that.

  2. Maggie

    I’m struggling with the same thing right now. I used to NEVER use shampoo – I was into the “curly girl” method (http://www.naturallycurly.com/curlreading/curl-products/all-about-the-no-poo-routine-2), which really did work – turned my frizzy hair into actual curls. Then once I started grad school I didn’t have the time to always let my hair air dry on cold mornings, etc. and went back to my old shampoo/conditioner ways (aka the cheaper the better).

    Now, I’m back to trying curly girl, but this time… my hair is not getting over that greasy phase. Maybe I’m just not being patient enough. Vinegar and baking soda works great for me, though it’s more of a hassle to mix up before showering than just reaching for a bottle of conditioner. But I also watched this the other day:
    http://www.longhaircareforum.com/showthread.php?t=475702
    and that confused me yet again, since it makes those ingredients sound terrible for your hair. Though I admittedly haven’t researched it more deeply yet. :-/

Leave a Reply

