30 by 30

Originally I didn’t want to do a 30 by 30 list, mostly subscribing to Sarah’s philosophy that it’s okay to not be quite so goal oriented all the time.  But then we sat down and made a summer to do list, and it makes me pretty happy.  I think there is an upside to sitting down and writing out the things that you want to do.  So my list is going to be small things that I hope to do, like making my own cheese (it’s actually on the summer list), instead of big life things.  Because the big life things are going to happen whether I put them on a list.  It’s the little things that fall by the wayside, and I’m hoping this list will help keep me grounded as life picks up and we turn into full fledged grownups.

So here is the beginning of the list:

  1. Run a marathon
  2. Do a century bike ride
  3. Do an Olympic distance triathlon
  4. Make my own cheese
  5. Make my own yogurt
  6. Go back to Egypt
  7. Do a trail race
  8. Pace my friend E. on one of her Ultramarathons
  9. Go diving in the pacific ocean
  10. Take an overnight train trip with my husband
  11. Put a backsplash up in the kitchen
  12. Grow vegetables
  13. Go on a racecation (race + vacation)
  14. Volunteer at the nature center where we got married
  15. Try CrossFit
  16. Take a boxing class
  17. Take a photography class
  18. Take baked goods to the new neighbors
  19. Go to Australia
  20. Do a bike tour of Niagra wineries
  21. Do a beer tour somewhere new
  22. See a Broadway play
  23. Run a half-marathon in under 2 hours
  24. Learn Spanish
I will think about the rest, but goal #1 for today is to not be late for work, so I should get on that.
1 Comment

Filed under Exercise and Fitness, Life List

One response to “30 by 30

  1. ha! I love how “small things” for you include running a marathon, doing a century bike ride, olympic distance tri, and visiting Egypt AND Australia. those are pretty big to me! heh. but I love your list, totally might steal some of those for my own. 🙂

    I hope you post about making cheese, i’ve always wanted to try doing that!

Leave a Reply

