Time to get in shape.

My boss was teasing me today about how messy my office is, and how I need to straighten up if I want to be able to work for the organization ever again if more funding becomes available.

Which is fair, sure, but also kind-of not my fault.  Let me break this down into the Parts that Are My Fault and the Parts that Are Not My Fault:

My Fault:

1) I’m generally a bit messy as a person.  I have a pretty high tolerance for mess, so it takes awhile before my desk is Too Messy To Function.

2) I take on too many clients and then keep all of their files out on my desk for easy access.

3) I’m on the lazy side, when it comes to being clean. So if I throw a letter at the recycling bin and it winds up on the floor, I’m about as likely to pick it up as I am to simply tell myself I will get it later and continue working.

4) I hate asking the paralegal to scan stuff, so I let the “to scan” pile grow out of control on my desk, and don’t put anything away until it is scanned.

Not My Fault:

1) I share an office with the recycle bin, there are bits of paper everywhere, and the office vacuum sucks.  Or rather, doesn’t suck.  At all.  And causes a burning smell.  Husband is reading this and thinking triumphantly that I was wrong to make him give up our vacuum.  And he is right.

2) I don’t have my own scanner, and I hate asking the paralegal to scan stuff, so I let the “to scan” pile grow out of control on my desk, and don’t put anything away until it is scanned.

3) My boss keeps piling books on my desk for “my reference” which I think is also known as “getting them off his desk”.

4) I share the desk with two interns, who move my stuff around and leave copies of the Code everywhere.

I’ve done my best to get organized with the tools available to me, so my files are all in a file organizer, except the ones that migrate onto my desk and stay there.  My lose papers are all in a “to scan” pile, but somehow my desk has become covered in notebooks.  I have a bad habit of picking up any available notebook and using it, even if I already have three of them being used.  So I need to get that habit organized and under control, and develop a file management system.  Any suggestions?

Leave a comment

Filed under Lawyering

Leave a Reply

