Closet reorganization

image

A few of you asked for pictures once I sorted out my closet.  I haven’t actually painted it like I wanted to, but it is currently functional, and that makes a huge difference.  I have a tendency to focus on small things that won’t actually help instead of big things that will.

A few weeks ago, I came home to my husband building a shoe rack for me. I wasn’t sure how it would go, but once it was in my closet, it was great for boots and party shoes. I then found two shoe racks when we cleaned up at my folks house, and once I had those, I moved my suits and dresses around. My shoes are generally still littered around the house, but at least now I don’t waste time looking for them in my closet. I also feel better and my husband is happy. I also like to keep the top and bottom racks clear so that when I come home and kick off my shoes (I go from suit to playclothes within five minutes of getting into the house), I just kick them under the shoe rack or toss them on top.  I did have to start hanging my pants halfways on hangers to get enough room to see my shoes, but that actually keeps them a little neater anyway.  I have several pairs of activity-specific shoes, like my dance shoes and my tap shoes, which all go on those bottom shelves that are a little blocked, since I rarely use them but won’t get rid of them.  My hiking boots and winter boots are on the floor to the right of the picture, under my sweater rack, since I also rarely use them.

I’ve been saying for years that I wouldn’t use a standard shoe rack, but it turns out the problem isn’t my shoe rack, it was my closet.  If I can’t see my shoes, I won’t use a shoe rack, so as soon as I got all the long stuff out of the way, the shoe rack was easy.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fashion Cents, Marriage, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

