Go Further: April Challenge!

Woo!  Another week down – how is everybody doing?

I’m actually doing great.  I’m not bragging, instead, I’m genuinely surprised I’ve been able to exercise every day this month – which is 22 days, if you were counting.  As long as riding my bike to do errands instead of driving counts, I’m set.  If it doesn’t, I missed two days.

This week, I decided to mix it up.  I got in boot camp class at the gym near my office that I still have 4 classes left at; and I did an early morning spin class (yay!) at the new gym I’m doing a Living Social deal at.  Then today, I went to water aerobics.  I’m not sure if I’ll go back.  It’s an hour long class, and the second half hour is a really great workout, but the first half is just sort of old-lady cardio.  I’m not sure if it would be rude if I asked if I could swim laps first and then join them for the strength class, but I’m at least 40 years younger than pretty much the entire class.

I’ve also used my treadmill this week and went to women’s league hockey evaluations.  Those were fun.  Using the treadmill is going well – this week I actually ran on it for awhile while I watched The Biggest Loser.  I’m a little bummed because the scale hasn’t budged at all – I was hoping this challenge would help me get past my weight-loss plateau, but I think I need to stop eating quite so much chocolate to make that happen.  This weekend will be difficult with Easter, but I think a lot of the Easter candy will go to work and into the freezer, to portion it out.

How’s everybody else doing?  Kicking ass, taking names?  Report in!

7 Comments

Filed under Exercise and Fitness

7 responses to “Go Further: April Challenge!

  1. Jo

    You are AWESOME!! I’m so impressed!

    I’ve been doing well! I started Couch to 10 K program, for a 5K I’m running in June (I’m an overpreparer). The off days in there I’ve been working in the yard after work or cleaning out the house–lots of stairs/walking instead of couch time.

  2. I completed my second week of early-morning bootcamp this week, which entailed a little bit of a mental battle to get out of bed at 5:38 a.m. 4 out of 5 days. I also did my 5th workout for the first week on sunday and plan to do my “homework” this weekend sometime.

    I stepped on the scale Thursday morning before the workout and was utterly disheartened/alarmed to see that my weight was UP 5 pounds. Um, holy shit. Of course, they tell you in the little bootcamp manual they give you that women in particular should not look to see pounds dropping off in the first weeks as you’re replacing fat with heavier muscle… so, I’m just gonna chalk it up to that and stay off the scale until this 6-week adventure is done. Yikes!

    • Yeah, this is the very problem I’m having. I can see my body composition changing, but I’m not losing any weight. My advice is to take measurements of your waist, hips, etc. Then you’ll be able to track your progress as you gain muscle, loose fat, but maintain the same weight.

      • Yeah, I took measurements the day I started and again after the scale fiasco and was heartened to see that those numbers were not increasing. Still, it’s a weird mental trick!

  3. So I totally failed this week. I’m really pissed at myself. I only worked out 3 days this week. Two Zumba classes and one strength. I’ve just been so exhausted every day when I get done with work. I’m going to make an extra effort to do 5 days next week to make up for it.

Leave a Reply

