Go Further: Two a days

So on this new workout-every-day-goal of mine, I’ve been waking up in the morning, doing a quick workout, and then coming home at night to get in my “real” workout.  A couple of days, I put in a longer workout before work, but sometimes I want to hit an evening yoga class or go for a run.  So, I have gone back to doing two-a-days. 

Two-a-days are tricky.  The biggest issue with two-a-days is showering twice daily.  I can’t not shower after my morning workout, since I have to go to work.  I usually will shower after my evening workout because a) gross, and b) I don’t want to hang out all evening sweaty and gross.  So here are a few tricks I’ve developed to make two-a-days manageable. 

  1. Aim for one low-impact and one high-impact workout a day – walking and boot camp; swimming and spinning; running and yoga; workout DVD and a bike ride. 
  2. Aim for two totally different types of workouts a day – strength and cardio; upper body and lower body, etc.
  3. Don’t wash your hair more than once a day.  I wash mine in the morning, before work. 
  4. Keep both showers as short as possible (the one in which you do not wash your hair should be 2-3 minutes). 
  5. Keep the water temperature as low as possible – hot water irritates and dries out your skin. 
  6. Use a moisturizing body wash and moisturize afterwards, if you’re not too lazy like me.  (Do as I say, not as I do…)

The other problem with two-a-days is injury.  This is why it is important to not overdo it, and to not do two-a-days more than 3 times a week, unless one workout is really short (20 minutes or less).  Don’t do CrossFit and then P90X.  Your body needs time to recover.  But two-a-days are also an effective way to make sure you get in at least one workout. 

Does anyone else have any tips for surviving two-a-days?

3 Comments

Filed under Exercise and Fitness

3 responses to “Go Further: Two a days

  1. Jo

    I’m just in awe that you do them.

  2. Any time I have lost significant amounts of weight – it is because I did two a days. Hard to motivate myself to get in the groove, but so helpful once you can! Good luck!

  3. I did two a days in high school during the high school girls season and during the summer. It was brutal. Of course my body was younger, so it was tougher. I think the more you do them, the easier they got. Although they were never easy.

    I ate very differently when I was actively training hard. Lots of pasta and protein. Not a lot of veggies (bad Bunny). If you are going to train hard, you do have to increase the amount of food you intake.

    But if it’s something like light exercising and a hard one workout, you probably don’t need to power eat. Just watch your body more closely and see what it needs. Take a day off if you need to. Figure out what your body is hungry for. Get a lot of sleep.

Leave a Reply

