Work

I heard an interview with Kenny Rodgers on the radio awhile back, and he said something his mother always said, “if you find a job you love, you’ll never work a day in your life.”  At the time, I thought it was so true.  No, I realize it couldn’t be further from the truth. 

I have a job (yay!) that I love (double yay!) – I work with good people, I do good work, and I genuinely like most of my clients and want to help them.  I have an easy commute and my only complaint is that we don’t have casual Fridays.  I finally got business cards of my very own and I squealed when I opened the box. 

But at the end of the day, I come home and I feel flattened like a pancake.  Some days, I feel like I got hit by a truck and some days I just feel like I got hit by a smart car.  Nonetheless, I feel hammered.   Because I have spent the last 8 hours working.  I have been drafting, consulting, meeting with clients, researching, and recording.  I work, somedays nonstop.  I have a full caseload and I keep adding more clients. 

So yeah, I love my job, but I work.  I find it fulfilling, but that certainly doesn’t make it easy.  I enjoy doing it – I love that moment when you realize that the law is on your side, that the bank is going to release your client’s funds, that you’ve made somebody’s day better just by listening to them talk about their problem and trying to give them a few answers.  Nonetheless, it’s backbreaking and in many ways, soul crushing.  Not soul crushing in the way that big scary law firms are soul crushing, but simply defeating. 

The funny thing is that I’m not looking for a way out, or a job where I’m happier, because I’m pretty sure that this is what work is supposed to feel like.  Does it sound right to you?

3 Comments

Filed under Lawyering

3 responses to “Work

  1. You know, here I am following my passion and I always feel exhausted after a days work. It always feels like work to me. Sometimes I really feel like I’m doing something wrong because I was told work that you are passionate about shouldn’t feel like work.

  2. Jo

    See, I think that things you’re passionate about are the things that will exhaust you, because you put your heart into them.

    And I also think that you’re right, that I feel this is how work should be. I was raised with a pretty intense work ethic, and I appreciate it.

  3. I agree with Jo, the more passionate you are, the more you leave out there at the end of the work day. I think this is how it’s supposed to feel. I put a lot of myself into my teaching and I honestly enjoy lecturing, but at the end of a day of teaching, I feel like I’ve been hit by a bus. About all I can handle is opening a bottle of Strong Bow before sitting down to read a trashy novel.

    One thing I know I need to work on is not taking things personally. I tend to get upset when a student flunks the exam or never comes to class or tries to feed me a flimsy excuse for a late paper, but I need to remember that it isn’t about me, that I am not responsible for their failure to have their act together. I suspect some of the same kinds of reminders are necessary for lawyers–you can’t make every client happy. I think you’re more level-headed about that kind of thing than I am though!

Leave a Reply

