I don’t wear makeup to work.

I’m not sure if it’s laziness or rebellion, but I don’t.  I know that I “should”, because it makes me look professional.  I know that all the girls I know who are sharp looking, dress right, and never have a hair out of place wear makeup.  I know that my face has been breaking out lately and those dark circles under my eyes aren’t getting lighter with age.  I know that makeup makes me look older and I keep getting asked, with surprise, if I’m a real live attorney. 

But here are the other things that I know.  Makeup is expensive, it’s time consuming, it’s easy to go wrong with, and it makes my face itchy.  At least when I put on the full-coverage foundation that I bought for our wedding.  Yes, I usually use the Ulta minerals kit, but it’s like, I could do my makeup or I could spend ten more minutes in bed/running/changing my shirt to come up with an appropriate work outfit.  I  know that my lip gloss is too shiny and my Revlon colorstay lipstick gets sticky and gummy after awhile.  I also know that I don’t want to have to wear makeup to be taken seriously, treated like an adult, or generally respected. 

So I figure, I won’t wear makeup, and even if I have to work a little harder, I will make them respect me-as-I-am.  I do my hair up nice and leave it at that, so I don’t look like the girl who doesn’t try.  I will wear clothes that match and are clean.  I will try to get my skin under control, because acne isn’t professional (and wasn’t it supposed to go away after I got out of high school?)  I will remember to wear sunscreen, because, well, I need to.  I’m very fair-skinned and I walk to work, which means spending a decent amount of time outside. 

I might eventually look into some kind of tinted moisturizer.  I might purchase a nice creamy neutral lipstick shade that doesn’t cost an arm and a leg, doesn’t get on my teeth, and doesn’t leave marks all over everything (if such a thing existed, they certainly would sell a lot of it.)  I might even ask for recommendations from you for how to look professional and put together, in the makeup department, if you are up for giving the advice.  Right now, I’m using this as my only makeup, so until I get some good suggestions I can find at the drugstore on my way to work, I’m probably going to stick with it.

7 Comments

Filed under Fashion Cents, Lawyering

7 responses to “I don’t wear makeup to work.

  1. Jo

    I have really mixed emotions about how it is that we have to wear makeup to look/feel professional. Some of the non-profits I’ve worked don’t because it’s mostly women fighting the man, and when I worked with teens I didn’t because I was trying not to get beaten up, and needed the ten more minutes of psyching myself up! 🙂

    But I’ve been thinking lately about how I’m an ambassador, and how I should look considering that.Which probably means not wearing sweats all day. Work on my wardrobe starting very soon. (I can handle wearing makeup when I work out of the house, as it’s only one day a week…I’m lucky, I know!)

    I really like the Tarte Smooth Operator tinted moisturizer. SPF in it, creamy and natural.

    • vadoporroesq

      Ooooh I do really like Tarte products. I bought a Tarte concealer and promptly lost it. I have faith that it, and my watch, will turn up soon. Thanks!

  2. I’m with you. I SHOULD wear more, but 10-15 more minutes of sleep seems so much better.

    I go through phases where I wear more or less. Right now, I am forcing myself to wear mascara – eyeshadow if I am lucky. Makes you look so much more awake. I use Benefit BadGal, because it makes my lashes look long and curled as well – without actually having to curl them. Another bonus.

  3. I don’t wear a ton of makeup either, but I do like wearing some powder (I like loose), a little mascara, and a neutral lipstick or tinted moisturizer (or I did, until Burt’s Bees discontinued my lip shimmer color!) when I’m going to work. It makes me feel like I look a little more polished and it literally takes 2 minutes.

  4. My daily makeup consists of blush (I love Rimmel’s because it has more pigment than most drug store brands), mascara (Maybelline in the pink tube), and maybe Nuetrogena pencil eyeliner on the top lashes if I’m feeling it. Occasionally I’ll put on some of that Nuetrogena eyeshadow you recommended, which I love.

    Anyway, I am not the most professionally attired person, so I don’t really think you should be taken professional makeup tips from me. But just in case you were wondering what I use on a daily basis.

  5. Courtney

    I’ve been bad about wearing little to no makeup these days. I’m so tired, that 10 extra minutes of sleep seems much more appealing!

    Although, I do recommend BadGal mascara from Benefit. It is my one can’t-leave-the-house-without-it-on makeup tool. Makes you look so much more alert and alive.

  6. Pingback: Makeup | Vado Porro – Go Further

Leave a Reply

