Good things happen to good people.

All around me, good things are happening to good people.  Two of my friends got job offers yesterday (although one doesn’t have a start date, and is waiting on the person she is replacing to get a start date.)  Even though I have had no responses to the recent flurry of job applications except a “don’t call us, we’ll call you” email, this is good news.

It is good news because it means the market is starting to open up a little bit.  It is good news because people I was competing with for jobs are getting hired, and eventually somebody will be forced to take me, like I’m the last kid in gym class.  It is good news because it means that good things are happening to good people, finally.  Because after months and months of watching the people who partied hard in law school get hired for clerkships and then watching them act like the world is theirs, the people I know who worked very hard and took school very seriously are starting to see the future take shape.

I am very, very happy for them.  I also firmly believe that jealousy and sour grapes do not have a place in this job search, because every friend of mine who has a job is a friend who can help me soon.  It’s a bit like on airplanes, in which people put their oxygen masks on first and then help others.  The more friends I have in high places, the more likely they are to eventually be able to help me.  As I write this, it sounds terrible.  It also sounds lazy.  I can assure you that it is neither, and I am working to try to make the right kind of connections and network in a way that is positive.

How do you feel when friends get jobs, even if they are jobs you would like to have?

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Good things happen to good people.

  1. I have to admit, I’m a bit competitive about jobs. I’m not always the best at helping others up into the ranks because I worry someday they will become my competition, even if they aren’t right at this very time. I need to get better at that and realize that more people working in my field isn’t a bad thing, and that I can’t do all the jobs in my field.

    I think you’ve got a great attitude and I know something HAS to be right around the corner for you. Seriously, all your waiting is going to pay off big.

  2. I’m with you — I like it when good people are off the market! Although I do usually have to go through a jealous period when someone else gets an interview or an offer for a job I really wanted.

  3. It’s been hard for me to see friends from my grad program get jobs while I’m still waiting it out. I’ve gotten to the point where it’s pretty easy to deal with, except when they’re insensitive to my financial situation, which hasn’t changed since grad school, or my lack of excitement over snow days (schools closed = no chance of subbing) – which happens quite a bit. I’m trying to smile through it all and be happy that each time they hire me to sub I make $170, and also I’m hoping that the subbing jobs I get through them can lead to a normal job next year.

Leave a Reply

