Go Further: March Challenge!

A lot of us on Twitter have been talking about our workout routines and trying to get in better shape, exercise more, and also fit back into our pants.  Since we all have separate goals and they don’t necessarily revolve around weight loss, I wanted to set up a challenge (with fun hashtags!) so that we can all try to achieve together.  Studies show that people who write down their goals and have encouragement and support are more likely to achieve.  I’m also a big fan of setting short term goals.  So here’s what I’m proposing:

1.  Comment below and write down your goal for the month of March.  (Yes, there are 10 days left in February, but you can get started early!)  Your goal can really be anything, as long as it involves pushing yourself to go a little further, fitness-wise, than you are right now – so maybe exercising a set number of times per week or for a certain length of time; incorporating weight lifting or a new type of exercise; or doing a particular workout video regularly; even going to a certain class or certain number of classes at the gym.  It can also be something more simple, like “be able to do 10 real pushups” or “don’t fall over in half moon”.

2.  Every Friday, I’ll post my progress towards my goal and you guys can post yours.  You can measure your progress however you like, be it numbers on a scale, miles you can run, weights you can lift, number of times a week you worked out, etc.

3. Join twitter and discuss your goal and how you are meeting it with the hashtag #gofurther (I am totally open to suggestions, that is a lame hashtag).

4.  At the end of March, everyone will report back and talk about whether you were or weren’t able to meet your goal.  Everyone who participates all the way through the end of March will be entered into a drawing for a fun prize! (Which I think will be a yoga mat bag, or a gym tote of some kind.) I’m going to define participates as, “checks in at least twice” (and it doesn’t have to be on Fridays – so you can come back and comment on Friday’s post the following Monday to check in.)

If this works for people, we’ll do it again for April.

Okay, I’ll start, since this was my slightly-weird idea.  My goal is:  to be able to run 10 miles in less than 1h 40 min.  What’s yours?

11 Comments

Filed under Exercise and Fitness, Life List

11 responses to “Go Further: March Challenge!

  1. I really need to get back into running. After the marathon I completely stopped to salvage what was left of my knees, but I’ve got the Spartan Race in May, which is 8 miles, and I need to go ahead and get ready for that. I pledge to run twice during the week for 3 miles and then progressive long runs on the weekend.

  2. Well, since I’ve yet to really exercise 5 times a week, I’m going to shoot for that.

    So, here’s the plan:
    Get on the elliptical for 30 minutes at least 5 times a week.
    Do at least 100 crunches 5 times a week.

    Also, I need to write things down again..I quit about a week ago because I kept forgetting and somehow writing things down helps with my motivation!

    Here’s to March! (And I actually like #gofurther!)

  3. My goal is to lose weight. I’m currently at 132/133 and would like to get down to 125. I know that doesn’t sound like a lot, but it is for me I guess. I’ve been really struggling to lose the weight I put on during my thesis writing time (I’m down 3-4 lbs since December). I’m hoping to get there sometime in April.

    So to help me reach that goal, I’m committing to working out 4 days a week. I’ve already cut my pizza intake to once per month (it was seriously getting out of control before January). I’m going to try to up my veggies and fruit, and look into more low fat recipes.

  4. OK, I am sharing a fitness goal that will reveal my profound un-fitness, so please don’t laugh at me! 🙂

    In March, I would like to run my first 11-minute mile. Some day I would like to run 10-minute miles but right now I’m still working to break 11.

    • vadoporroesq

      New Rule: Anyone who laughs at anyone’s goals is immediately disqualified! This is a safe space for sharing what you want to achieve for yourself.

  5. I would like to work on the flexibility of my legs. I can’t fully extend my legs when they are in the air and it’s impairing my pilates workouts. I plan to talk to Collin’s aunt, who is a personal trainer, to get some ideas on how to improve my legs’ flexibility. So my goal is to talk to her and follow her recommendations. Small, but significant to me.

    • vadoporroesq

      There are no small goals! I’d suggest using an elliptical if you can – I find that really helps with my flexibility.

  6. I love this idea! My goal is to work out 5 times per week in the month of March.

  7. Jo

    Eat more fruits and veg, work out four times/week.

  8. Ok, I know I’m late to the party. Like, nearly a week late. In fact I should probably just wait until tomorrow and join in then. Oh well. So, I’ve signed up to do a relay marathon at the end of May. My leg of the relay is only 5 miles but it’s still a bit scary, because I have team mates who I don’t want to let down and I am seeeeeriously unfit.

    So my goal for March is to work up to running 3 miles/5k comfortably (ish). Also, I would really like to go to one Body Balance class a week. And my self-discipline is crap so you all have to make me! Ok? Good. Go Team #Gofurther!

  9. Pingback: Go Further: What these challenges mean. | Vado Porro – Go Further

Leave a Reply

